French Polynesia

French Polynesia, an overseas collectivity of France, comprises 118 dispersed islands in the South Pacific, stretching for more than 2,000km. Divided into the Austral, Gambier, Marquesas, Society and Tuamotu archipelagos, they’re known for their coral-fringed lagoons and over-the-water bungalows. The islands also encompass white- and black-sand beaches, mountains, rugged backcountry and towering waterfalls.